This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

To dream of owls, and other things.

 

Last night, or I should say early this morning I dreamt. I dreamt of owls. I remember 3 owls. Blue owls, different shades with perhaps some green, but predominately blue. I know there were other owls around, but there were only the 3 that were important to the dream. They were of the standard sizes when you have 3 owls. Large, medium, and small. The small was the focus. I think I had a broken finger, as it was bandaged with the pet tape style tape (I think). The tape was black, but I don’t think that makes much a difference.

 

I was in a house that until a few weeks ago, I hadn’t been in for nearly 16 years. We were in the High Desert of California, a place owned by people I have known nearly my entire life. A home away from home.

 

My cousin Mimi was making pancakes on a griddle behind the wetbar (why not on the kitchen counter 6 feet away, I’ll never know) and I had this tiny blue owl on my broken finger. It was nuzzling me and preening like any pet bird would do.

 

There was a dog crate at my feet, nothing special. Most likely an exact replica of the current dog crate that little miss Saki uses. At first I thought it was Saki in the crate. (Though in retrospect, she might have been sitting on the couch next to where Mimi was cooking)

 

I looked in the crate, and saw Pink. The tiny Maltese who was our last puppy. I remember she looked at me, but was uninterested. When I say tiny, she was the iptome of a ‘tea cup’, full grown tip to tail no bigger than the span of my adult hand. She thought she was the biggest dog in the world though. Bless her.

 

The focus of the dream after all was the owls.

 

I cannot remember who else was in the dream, but I do know the house owners (the old family friends) were not present.

 

I cannot remember anything that was said.

 

I think I was reading something in the dream, as I woke up thinking it was odd, as why do I remember that you can’t read in your dreams?

 

All I remember was this tiny blue owl was important to me.

Leave a Reply

