This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Through dangers untold…

I am biting the bullet. I am committing to it. Now I just need to get my butt into gear and get the patterns ready.

In the next couple of months, I will be putting up for Pre-Order, a Pattern Club.

There will be 6 official patterns. (Price yet to be determined)

Of the confirmed patterns, there will be:

1 Stole (rectangular)

1 Sock pattern

1 Shawl

There are more coming, but these are the ones that will happen.

As of right now, orders will only be through the shop proper, I will email the patterns to people.  Once the club is over, I will then open the patterns up for sale via Ravelry, but it will be only once the club is well and truly over. I will then send a download code for the members to add the pattern to their Ravelry libraries. (But that won’t happen till the club is over, only because I can’t separate out who can “purchase” the pattern via ravelry. And as of right now, this is only going to be open to club members.)

When I started tinkering with this idea, I start wracking my brain as to what I wanted the theme to be. I almost didn’t start this project simply because of worrying about if I’d be able to come up with the patterns.

Well, not even 5 minutes after I came up with the theme, I got ideas for 6 patterns immediately.  I have more than 6 patterns that I’m playing around with, but for this round… there will only be 6. (There might be a special extra, but we’ll see.)

 

What is the theme?

 

Well my dear readers… I’m going with one of my favorites of all time.

Yes, you read that correctly. Labyrinth. Inspired by the most amazing movie brought to us by Jim Henson, featuring The Goblin King himself, who just so happened to be my first crush ever. (I still have a crush on David Bowie)

 

That’s all the info I have for now. More details will be forthcoming.

 

In other news… I had been avoiding doing my taxes for weeks now.  I had everything prepared and ready to go, but dreaded the important step of actually filing. On one hand, I am glad I delayed.

A few weeks ago I received a letter from Unemployment (Colorado), stating that my payments were being postponed, and that my claim was under review.

Then a few days ago, I received a letter stating that not only was I now ineligible for benefits (no explanation as to why… the buggers), but also that they had over paid me by 2 months. This overpayment is of course due immediately, and comes to just over $1200.00. Where they think I’m going to suddenly come up with this money is beyond me. There is a reason I am on unemployment. I am by the Government’s standards… unemployed. C’est la vie.

This last letter of course lead to meltdowns and panics on my part trying to figure out what the heck was going to happen.  (And it was partly the inspiration for this club)

I finally came out of shock, and got a game plan.

It has changed what will happen in the next few months. The moving to England time table has once again been stepped up, and it means changes to The Asylum.

But, like I said above I am glad I delayed in filing my taxes. Had I done that sooner, I would have had my return already, and most likely spent it on yarn (for the Asylum) and other things… like food and rent. (What a concept.)

Now, it all gets to go to my Unemployment bill. It won’t cover all of it, but it will put a fair sized dent in what they are demanding, and it will make me breathe easier not having the total amount looming over my head.

Sometimes procrastination pays.

 

On a completely different note… I just found out that they are going to be making the Dragon Riders of Pern into movies. YAY!!! I cannot express how happy this makes me.

I did not read Lord of the Rings in 6th grade like a lot of people I know. Instead, I was in Pern.

I carried around marble decorative eggs because they reminded me of Firelizard eggs.

I learned how to make Klah (still drink it on a regular basis). I learned how to make Bubbly Pies (though I don’t make Blueberry since I’m not a fan, instead I make mixed berry).

During the death of my Aunt/Mother, I retreated not only into Outlander, but into Pern.

In dreams I flew on dragonwing.

They better do these movies well. Otherwise there will be hell to pay.

 

On that note. I’m going to bed. I am very tired. Night all!

4 responses

  1. Hillary

    First loves never really die. I still love Data. I so want to see the amazing creations you come up with for this one!

    April 13, 2011 at 12:00 am

  2. Hooray!

    April 13, 2011 at 4:29 am

  3. The pattern club sounds like a great idea!

    The books you talk about, the Dragon Riders of Pern – well I’ve been trying to figure out what this series is for ages!! I had a teacher in 5th grade that read us a little of them and I might even have read them then, but as an adult I couldn’t remember the name of the series. All google searches about dragons and eggs did not bring up the series I was thinking of!

    Thank you for posting about that and finally solving a mystery for me!!!

    April 13, 2011 at 5:52 am

  4. Great idea. I can’t wait to see what patterns you come up with!

    April 18, 2011 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

