This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Anomaly Con 2011, Part 1

I want to do a good long post about Anomaly Con. I even started mentally writing it last night. But it would require downloading photos, etc.

I’ve also decided that certain things I wanted to talk about… I shouldn’t. So I won’t. Ya dig?

 

Anomaly Con was quite fun. It was quite interesting being a “vendor” type person instead of just a patron.

I will touch lightly on this, and that is it. I found most people at the con quite… negative.

I don’t know if it’s just that I have basically turned into a bit of a hermit over the last year or not… but the patrons were by and large dour and negative whilst looking at wares. This is an observation not just at my table, but something I noticed as I observed people at other artist’s tables, or downstairs in the dealer area.

Alright, I’ve said my peace on that. Now I’ll move on.

The con it’s self… lets just say I do realize it is the baby year, and there was a lot of learning experience.

The Tivoli Center is a beautiful building. The atmosphere was perfect for what we were doing. Giant copper brewery … urns? (My brain is dead, I can’t think of the word I want) lots of piping… and just amazing bits and pieces.

But, it is not a good place for a convention. To get places, you would have to walk across the entire length of the center, then go up another elevator etc. And there was one section that quite a few of us never did get to, nor could figure out how to get there. (I feel so bad for the people who were stuck in that area…)

The Asylum did not do so well at the con. I made back my booth fee, and the cost of everyone’s tickets.. So that is great. That’s the least I could ask for.

Copper Dragonfly’s hats did well and people loved the odd shapes of the hats instead of just general round ones. (By well, I mean a few of them sold)

Erin Gallagher the author did amazing. Lots of people are excited for me to finish my novel and have it out in the world.

At one point I was kicked out of my own table and told to go listen to a panel that was going on. I did. I’m glad I did. Though it was amusing, I was pretty much the only person asking questions.

But… I might have found a self publishing route that I might go with. It is a group that was created by authors who have gone the self publishing route. So, they banded together and created their own author house. Self publishing is hard work, but having resources is a good thing. And most importantly, I would retain all rights nor would I have to worry about exclusivity. So if my dream came true and Harper Collins, or Tor decided to pick me up… I could easily go with them without having to give up a pound of flesh to get out of contracts etc. What I also like about this group, is that they are inclusive of all genres. For me, that is a very good thing. After all, I’ve got several.  Aether Horizons, steampunk adventure fiction. Angel Blitz (working title), a paranormal fantasy in WW2 England. The Q2-Files (series title), a modern mystery thriller. The Happy Housewife (working series title), a paranormal fantasy set in the 1950’s.

See, I don’t just fall into one category. Then there are other projects that I’m not yet at liberty to discuss, which fall into none of the categories I just mentioned.

Now, this company is a baby company. They literally just published the first title as of this weekend. The website needs a lot of work in my opinion. (Right now it looks like a fan page for one of the authors… which I understand why it’s like that, but I would recommend making it a little less about Her Her Her.)

I am interested in this pub house because yes I had planned on doing the self publishing route. I know it means I’ll have copies of my book laying about my house waiting for me to ship out. I know it will mean me selling the hell out of my book to everyone I come across. But, going with the print on demand publishers is just bloody expensive(with very little profit), and won’t ever get me into Barnes and Noble. (This pub house needs a few more authors… well not authors, but book titles before it can be put into the big distribution list that all the shops order from.)

And there isn’t a print on demand website out there that I have discovered that can get me my novel for 5$ a book (my cost).

I think I’ll still go with smashwords, and a few other sources for the e-book editions, but that is neither here nor there right now.

 

For those who are interested in knowing the group… the website is here:  Tangled Webs Publishing

 

The weekend was not so fun because Saturday evening after we left the Con (no, we did not stay for the ball.. we were too tired) we went to dinner. After dinner we got back in the car and it didn’t start.

Oh, I had completely forgotten. The night before on Friday… we went to a concert. It was Great Big Sea. It was the final show of the tour, and the boys were having fun. I am so very glad I went.

When we got done with the concert, the car didn’t start. We got towed over to Danny’s shop, and then the car started. We risked it and went home because of how early we needed to be up in Denver. The car went up to Denver just fine.

So here we are, at a Mexican restaurant a few blocks away from Katte and Curtis’s house. The car is not working.

Katte comes and rescues us, as we were staying at her house anyway.

Curtis makes a call on his cellphone while I calm myself with a dram of scotch.

Curtis is the only man I know who can have a mechanic call him back at 10:30pm on a Saturday. And more oddly, that mechanic agrees to come out to the car at 7:30 in the morning on a Sunday.

I slept not so great because my brain wouldn’t shut off, I was dehydrated, and I had a migraine forming.

The morning comes, the mechanic meets us.  We determine it looks like it’s the fuel pump thats not working anymore.

Curtis hooks up Ginny to The Beast, and I nervously steer while he tows me the few blocks to the shop. (Oh my gods I hadn’t had to do that kind of towing in 7 years… I do not like to do it at all!!!!)

Katte then takes us to the Con. She was just going to pop in and see my table setup, and ended up staying for 3 hours. She loved it. She has all sorts of ideas now. Ideas that involve The Asylum as well.. muhahahahahaa.

Von who was coming up from the Springs on Sunday for the con gave me and all my crap (and people) a ride home. Which is good, because I had no idea how I was going to get all of my crap home otherwise.

The car is still in Denver. Katte is coming down with the kids on Tuesday to go to Garden of the Gods, so she’ll just scoop me up and take me up to Denver when it’s time to go home. (I was told that Tuesday is when the car should be ready, if nothing else I can always spend the night at their house until Wednesday if needed.)

 

So it was a good and bad weekend. Lots of interesting things happened.

Oh, and apparently my steampunk name is “Extra! Extra!” as everyone remembers the badge on my hat. (At least thats what the Colorado Springs people remember me as.) So I even moved the badge to my fedora on the Sunday. We’ll see if the nickname sticks or if I find something better.

I promise to post photos once I get them all downloaded etc… but for now… here is this one.

Saturday at Anomaly Con

 

4 responses

  1. I had a great time hanging with you on Sat. It was nice just to talk to you. And I totally agree on your observations both of Tangled, and the con in general.

    March 28, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    • It really was awesome hanging with you. I can’t wait till the next time!
      I was sad that you missed the panel I went to on Sunday about Tangled. As when we spoke with Tonya she didn’t quite get.. _there_ (man that woman can gab!)
      But it was quite informative.

      March 28, 2011 at 7:37 pm

  2. LOL! Erin, was there more than me, for CS people, who remembered your badge on your hat and costume from the CS Steampunk Expo? 🙂

    April 2, 2011 at 5:52 am

    • Yup, quite a few people remembered me due to the hat. Which is why on day two I switched the Extra Extra badge to my fedora. 🙂 It amuses me.

      April 2, 2011 at 7:12 am

Leave a Reply

