This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

So I lied… Sue me.

I said you’d most likely hear from me after Anomaly Con this weekend. Then I forgot to put some things in that blog. Sue me.

 

This is coming from Author Erin here…  (It was originally just going to be a status message on Facebook, but I knew it was going to be too long.)

 

Sometimes you have to listen to your muse. While out doing my shopping chores today, Mim and I stopped at the library. Now it is my habit to go into the library book shop and poke about. Normally I’m in and out quickly unless I’ve found something. (It’s actually really funny as I immediately Bee Line into the back corner where the fiction is and I scan for my fave authors.) Today I decided to also search in the other sections. And ooh boy am I glad I did. Mind you my wallet is not happy, but the writer in me is.

Someone must have just moved from the Washington D.C. area. Which wouldn’t surprise me since I live in a military town, we get influxes from everywhere. (There also appears to be a rather large Texas influx right now, which amuses me since we just got Blue Bell ice cream in the shops here.. all the marquees say “Blue Bell Ice Cream Now HERE!” Mim tells me that people are buying 5 or 6 containers of it at a time right now like it’s going to vanish. And as you know from my last post, even we have gotten on the bandwagon by getting a container. Just cause Mim had never had it.)

But I found a treasure trove of books about the Virginia, and D.C. area. Which made me all excited since the new novel I’m working on (at the same time as Aether Horizons, and The Bliss Leigh Happy series… Yeah… I multitask.) is set in that area of the country. It was serendipitous!

And they aren’t just your classic “what to do in D.C.” type books. They are the kind of books people who live there buy. Things like “Running trails of D.C.” -Okay I can’t remember if that’s the title at the moment because I’m tired, but yes it’s all the running paths in D.C. You might ask why I might want a book like that… well I realize it seems silly, but actually it works quite well with the character that I’m writing.

I’ve also been able to read other books that I’ve had stashed away in researching this novel. It makes me happy.

The Q2 Files are definitely getting more fleshed out. (Yes, that’s a working title.)

I will also share with you an amusing little story.

Writers choose far off exotic locations, or even locations close to home for all sorts of reasons.

Sometimes you throw a dart at a map.

Well, I threw a dart at a map of sorts and that’s how I chose where my main character was going to live. Once again it was a serendipitous moment.

Quaintance Queen. FBI Agent. Works in Washington D.C.

Quaintance lives in Virginia though. She actually lives in Old Town Alexandria to be quite specific.

I hadn’t decided on Old Town until I decided to do a google map of it.

The little Pin fell quite amusingly.

It fell on “Queen Street”.

So let me get this right, I’m trying to decide on where my character Quaintance Queen is going to live, and google maps brings up Queen Street? Yeah… I went with it.

I of course am now obsessed with a certain house at the corner of Union and Queen. To me, that is Q’s house. I can’t see the inside, so I get to completely play with that in my head. I’m having fun with that.

And I gotta say… Google Maps is a stalker’s dream. I should know… I am reaching those levels right now.

 

Alright, I’m going to take my pile of new books and head to bed.

 

Oh, and random… you all are going to hate me… but I get to go see Great Big Sea tomorrow night. Yeah.. you can hate me now.

3 responses

  1. Adam Burch

    Sorry it took me so long to get back to you.I finished my project done with your Momma Kitty yarn and it got a most unexpected response response…teary eyes.
    I know Ren loved the scarf.I hope she appreciates all the extra care and work you put into the dyeing.But know that I know that the yarn itself is the true work of art and I do appreciate all you did

    HUGS
    Adam

    March 27, 2011 at 7:19 am

    • Oh Adam, I am SO SO SO very glad that Ren loved the scarf.

      I would love to someday see the pictures of the scarf. I am glad to see you reconnected back with the virtual world, as I was wondering about your gardens and how your knitting was going.

      *hugs*

      Erin

      March 27, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      • adam

        As soon as my camera and I get back on speaking terms I promise to send pictures.
        The garden is all ready for spring.The herb garden has a new layer of mulch.The vegetable part has been weeded,tilled and covered just waiting for late May.
        The knitting has been on hold for bit,trying to get the ’66 Ford done for Dad before car show season,but will be casting on something by next weekend.

        April 8, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

