This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

The Mystery of the Carved Bones

This has been an interesting year. I never win anything. I always want to win things.. but I never do.  This year though, I have won 2 things. A book (Which I still haven’t read), and now a pair of custom made earrings by the fabulous designer Alena from Alena’s Originals.

Her Artfire shop is here, and her Facebook page can be found here.

I discovered her jewelry in a quest to find jewelry inspired by the tv show Bones. I love the necklaces that the main character of Bones (Based off the novels by Kathy Reichs) wore in the beginning seasons. I had found the actual designer many years ago, but her necklaces were going for thousands of dollars… and I’ve lost that link.

I ran into Alena’s shop once again in my quest for the necklaces.

With this set of earrings that I won, it was entirely up to me to pick what I wanted. Well, I didn’t know what I wanted so I told Alena to be creative. Just to give me something organic and earthy looking. I think she did an amazing job. I LOVE them. Wooden beads, A Walnut see, and Silver. Lovely, just absolutely lovely. And so light weight!

I love to look at pretty things. I can’t necessarily buy pretty things right now, but I can look at pretties and also send my “likes” to the hubs2be who is now terrified to buy me pretties because the only jewelry taste he is familiar with, of course is his Mothers, and his Sister. I am going to attempt to put this as delicately as possible.

I have the direct and total opposite taste in jewelry than my future Mother in Law.

She freely admits to loving the Bling.

I love things that are more organic and delicate. I do not love the bling. Guy has tried to show me things that he wanted to buy me. Thank gods he didn’t surprise me with pieces because quite frankly… I had not been happy with his choices.

OF course if he had bought me something, I would have loved it and loved him for buying it for me. Even if I thought it was the ugliest thing in the world. You do that for your spouse.

But he and I communicate with each other. He’s starting to learn what I like.  When he and I are finally cohabitating, he’ll finely be able to see what I like, and not just hear what I like.

Well, I like Alena’s work.

And I was absolutely floored when I won a pair of custom earrings made by her.  Even though I’m allergic to sterling silver (Though my ears aren’t hurting right now after wearing them for a few hours yesterday) I wasn’t going to mention it since these were free. If they had been less than SS, I would have offered to pay the difference so that I could actually wear them. Even with the SS, I chose a wire style that would allow me to change the wires out if absolutely necessary down the road.

Yesterday I had a photoshoot with Rebecca. We used the church of Grace and St. Stevens in Colorado Springs. That is my mother’s church, so while we were photographing, she was working in the garden. The reason we chose to have the photoshoot there was because the administrative offices are is in this amazing building next door. It is called the McWilliams House, and it is an old Victorian.

Now I shouldn’t be showing these photos yet, as there is a certain one that is for something very specific… but I’m going to risk it.

We had fun doing the photoshoot. I borrowed my mum’s hat for it, as I don’t have one of my own at the moment.

I have many more photos, but they aren’t ready yet.

I have quite a headache, so I’m going to leave it here for now.

Ta!

 

Oh, and stay tuned for more information about that pretty scarf I’m wearing. In a few days you’ll get to hear all about it with some detailed photos!

5 responses

  1. Hi Erin,
    Your photos look fantastic! You make a lovely subject and kudos to the photographer. Thank you so much for mentioning my jewelry. You did not owe it to me in any way… and I am grateful for your generosity. Not to boast, but the earrings really do look great with your outfit. How lucky was that?

    Good luck in your writing pursuits. I’ve heard that a true writer has to write, not for fortune, nor fame, but because their soul demands it. From what I’ve seen and read on your blog… that description fits you.

    – Alena Freeman

    February 25, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    • Thanks Alena for the earrings! They really were just so perfect for the outfit (not that I had planned it that way… it was kismet!)

      And thank you for the luck in writing, I can certainly use it!

      February 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  2. Great photos. I really can’t wait to see the rest and what you do with them 🙂

    February 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    • Thanks Christina. You’ll see some of them officially in a few days. 😉

      February 25, 2011 at 2:32 pm

  3. Kate Blair

    The pictures are amazing! Great work!

    February 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

