This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Severus “Muffincakes” Snape

So for those of you who have been keeping tabs on me, I’ve been on this diet.

I finished the Very Low Calorie portion of my diet 2 days ago.

Yesterday, Valentines Day (which I totally forgot to blog about) was the first day I was able to eat “Real” again. Meaning bump my calories up to 1500 cals a day. (This is from 500 that I’ve been on for the last 40 days)

I tell ya.. I felt like a pig. I was eating healthy, but I still felt quite piggy with how much I had to eat.

I discovered yesterday that I really do in fact like dried apricots. Why I didn’t think I liked them before is beyond me, but yesterday I swear I could have kept eating them all day long.

So not only did I spend a ton of money at the grocery store getting items that I’m able to eat (again I ask, why is fresh fruit and veg so expensive?!?!?!), but I had to start thinking about what to eat for the next 3 weeks.

I tell ya, I’m scared. I’ve got too many choices now. Which means it’s far too easy for me to slip up and gain all the weight I’ve lost back. Which by the way, I lost 25 lbs on this diet. (More than 25lb, but given the natural flux of day to day eating, I’m just rounding it down to 25 as the official number)

This morning I decided to go for it, and try a “Muffin in a Cup” recipe that I found.

And it honestly… is not bad at all. I was leery of it. I’ve never cooked or eaten Flaxseed meal before. I’ve also never attempted to “bake” in a microwave.

Grab your favorite mug. Or it could be your not so favorite mug. But for me, I decided to opt for my Slytherin mug this morning. Perhaps I should have used my Gryffindor mug if only due to the health factor of what I was making, but sometimes it’s good to have the naughty with your good.

Here is the cast of characters:

 

Ignore the big blue butterfly. That is hiding some yarn dyeing materials. Can’t have you knowing my secrets.

First:

Add the Flaxseed

Then, add the “sugar” I’m using Stevia, as it is the only sugar I’m allowed on my diet. (It’s not horrible, but I ended up really not using it at all whilst on this diet)

Add the Baking Powder.

Add the Cinnamon.

Mix that all up. I used a fork. It made sense at the time.

I didn’t photograph this. I’m pretty sure you know how to mix up dry ingredients with a fork.

Next up, I melted the butter and mixed it with the egg. Add that mixture to the mug.

Mix that all up. I still used that fork. Just seemed right. 😉

I decided to add some apple to mine just to go for some gusto.

I used about 52 grams of apple, and that was plenty.

Mix it up again!!!!

Pop that sucker in the microwave for about 1 minute to 1 minute 20 seconds. I personally did it for about 1 minute 40 seconds due to adding the apple.

And yes, I am watching Star Trek: The Original Series. My geekiness knows no bounds.

I ate the rest of my apple along side my muffin, along with a hard boiled egg for breakfast. It still feels so weird to actually eat breakfast…

And again the finished product…

I decided not to pop it out of the mug simply because I was lazy. But, I will admit it wasn’t bad at all. I’ve never really been much of a muffin person, but I can certainly see myself eating this for the next 3 weeks.

I can change it up by doing other fruit, or I can remove the cinnamon and sugar, replacing it with garlic and onion powders, along with a bit of cheese to make a savory muffin.

Recipe after my other muffin cake Snape…

Muffin in a Cup Recipe:

    1/4 Cup Flaxseed meal
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    1 packet stevia
    1 egg
    1 teaspoon melted butter (I found it easier to use my scale, and 1 teaspoon of butter is about 5 grams)

Directions:

Mix all dry. Add egg and butter.
Microwave 1 minute to 1 minute 20 seconds

Add apples, walnuts, raisins, cocoa powder

Remove cinnamon & stevia and replace with Parmesan cheese, garlic powder and onion powder to make a savory muffin.

Number of Servings: 1

Nutritional Info:
  • Servings Per Recipe: 1
  • Calories: 240.0
  • Total Fat: 18.1 g
  • Cholesterol: 223.5 mg
  • Sodium: 795.5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 13.4 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 10.3 g
  • Protein: 12.4 g

 

One response

  1. Wildfirehart

    I wonder if there is a way to up the fiber in this. Do you mind if I snich this & try different ways to lower the sodium & up the fiber? Thanks for sharing this btw.

    February 15, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

