This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

High Flying Burlesque

Okay in truth it was Low flying Burlesque, but High flying sounds better and doesn’t confuse people as much.

Yesterday I drove up to Boulder to have some trap time with Frequent Flyers, much to the annoyance of Saki as she was not allowed to go with me, and this was the first day that I’ve had to actually leave her for more than an hour or two since everyone else left for England.

Doesn’t she look absolutely disgruntled? No, this image isn’t from yesterday. It’s just one I had on my phone, and I love how disgruntled she looks.

Yup, still gotta say it… I miss Boulder.

I arrived quite early (you never really know if it’s going to take an hour, or if it’s going to take 2 hours). So what did I do? I found the studio (the last time I was there, they were at a different location), then I headed down the street to McGuckins Hardware. Oh how I missed that place. I know, it’s just a hardware store… But truth is, it’s more than one. And everyone is so nice, and they have the most cool random stuff.

I then went next door to Sunflower Market and picked up a few things for dinner. I had left the house at 4, so since it was now close to 6, I figured I should eat. (Why didn’t I eat before I left the house? Well who eats at 4??? Oh.. that’s right.. I used to when I was a slave to the tech desks. I’ve moved on. Now sometimes I don’t eat dinner till 8pm)

I picked up some bread like object, a little Jarlsberg cheese, and a tomato.  (Oh, and some two bite brownies just because I wanted them.)

Few bites of each I then headed over to the studio.

There were only a few of us in the class, other than Darla I was the only non Aerial person there. (I consider myself non aerial for this since it’s been so many years since I got on a bar that I was fresh meat again)

I immediately gouged my finger on the edge of one of my nails. Apparently when I broke my nails earlier in the day I apparently didn’t file down one corner enough. Lovely.

I’ve also realized that oh my god I haven’t worked out in nearly a month. And though weight lifting 60lbs might be good for a girl who hasn’t worked out for a while… lifting myself up is a lot harder. My god it’s been years since I had to do that. And yes, my upper body strength sucks. Due to how my body frame is, most of my awkward weight is up top. Yup, I’m top heavy. Most of my strength though is in my legs, which doesn’t help all horribly much when you are lifting yourself up.

I must say, I felt awesome hanging upside down. Just hanging for about a minute, my spine immediately decompressed and I was feeling good.

This led to problems later though. When I felt things release in my spine, it must have shifted or tweaked one or two of the nerve clusters. Because about 20 minutes later I got immediately nauseous.  (So that puts it at about 45 minutes into the class) I mustered on for a little while, but realized I wasn’t going to be able to get on the trap again without risking blowing chunks.

It had nothing to do with spinning, or being upside down. It just was the nerve cluster situation. This wasn’t the first time this has happened, so I know it wasn’t me not being able to handle being upside down etc.

So for the rest of the class I did the routine just on the floor (which was fine since there were 6 of us, and only 4 traps).

Part of me is disappointed that I couldn’t continue, but that’s alright. I know my limits, and I also know that I’m absolutely broken. I’ve been broken for years.

Everyone was very friendly, and the instructor whose name I cannot remember was awesome. I do remember that her burlesque name is Midnight Martini. She was quite fun.

I know what muscles I need to work on so that I can get back on the trap without being unable to move the next day.

Speaking of not being able to move the next day… yup… I’m there. I can barely move my arms… seriously even typing this hurts.  I can barely walk because of my right leg.

Surprisingly.. my back is fine. Yup.. the drive home was not painful. I honestly thought my back would be absolutely tweaking.. it’s not. It’s only starting to hurt now, but not because of the trap. It’s because of the normal “ugh there is no chair or couch in the house that doesn’t cause me pain”.

Here is bruise on my leg. Isn’t it sexy? I mean ohhh yeah.. sooo sexy. It’s going to be a nice mottled green color by the time I make it to the UK. Might have a little yellow in it too. Oh yeah… so sexy. The arms have small bruises as well, but I couldn’t get good photos of that.

Sorry the photos suck, it’s my cellphone camera, and well do you know how difficult it is to photograph the back of your own leg when you can barely move to begin with? To be honest I had huge difficulty putting on pants, I debated going with out the rest of the day, but to be honest.. it’s a bit cold lol. I call that there my $30 Bruise. Sure it actually cost me more than $30 because of factoring in the cost of gas up there, but that doesn’t sound as good. Do I regret it? Nope. I had lots of fun, even with not being able to participate in the second half of the workshop, and had nausea for the evening.

I need to clean the house and do the dishes.. But frankly.. it’s going to be a couple of hours before that’s happening.

And you might be asking yourself if I’m sad that Colorado Springs has no aerial studio at all? Yes. Of course. I cannot justify driving to Boulder, or Denver to do classes once a week. Oh, and that’s annoying… I lived in the Hampden and I-25 area for the bulk of my time in Colorado, not once but twice I lived in that area, and now it’s only NOW that they have an aerial studio. Damn them.

Which means as soon as I actually move to the UK, there will be a aerial studio set up in the Springs. Just you watch it.. it’ll happen.

Does this mean that someday when I buy my orchard, I’ll be converting a portion of the barn to a low trap studio? Yes… yes I will.

Does it mean that until I actually can buy the orchard, I’ll have to find a studio in England, even if it means taking a train for an hour each way once a week? Yes.  (After I move to the UK, I will be striving to become less broken, and will have the ability to do so… which means I can then justify getting back on a trap)

Alright.. I think I’ve sufficiantly written about last night.

Oh, and I’ve been a good girl, even though it was nearly midnight and I couldn’t see straight, I wrote a bit on the novel.

I’ve been taking part in NaNoWriMo. Not to the degree that others are, but I’ve been using it as an excuse to get back into writing every day. So even if I only write a sentence, I’m happy.

Alright, I should really go make some toast or something for brekkie… Otherwise I’ll end up eating most of these two bite brownies.

Bugs and Hisses!

Oh.. and yeah… I dyed 30 skeins of yarn in 2.5 hours. Fear me bitchez.

Oh and one last note, I’ll be reorganizing my tag categories on here, so if you see some weird stuff going on… just ignore it.

8 responses

  1. Jo

    Erin, that bruise is sexy! Sorry you felt nauseous the second half, but it does sound alot of fun.

    November 7, 2010 at 10:23 am

    • Yes… So sexy… lol.
      You and I are totes going to do some burlesque. It was fun.

      November 7, 2010 at 10:33 am

  2. Leslie

    Ye Gods, that’s a brusie worthy of your Mum. Sounds like so much fun. I take it that a “certain” person did not show for it?

    November 8, 2010 at 10:57 am

    • Correct.

      November 8, 2010 at 11:03 am

  3. Leslie

    BTW, GREAT Photo of Saki-Bomb….

    November 8, 2010 at 10:58 am

    • I know. I love it. That was another time when no one was home and it was just me and her. That’s how she pretty much spent her entire day. lol

      November 8, 2010 at 11:04 am

  4. I am so sorry sweety. I hope you feel better soon.

    December 22, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    • Oh I’m all fine now. England did wonders for my health. But yes, for the first week I was there the bruise was very mottled green and horrible looking.

      December 23, 2010 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

