This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Making Compost For My Garden…

Today I read my Rissa’s blog. She spoke of when life gives you lemons, you have a few options. For the most part you should know the usual options…

She suggested though using those rotten lemons to make compost for your garden so that something beautiful can grow.

Well, like her I do not have a garden right now. But mentally… I’m making compost.

She also spoke of having put her life on hold for many things recently.

Well, again like her I have put many things on hold. I didn’t even unpack my suitcases from the not so great trip to the UK.

I didn’t get any writing done since… At all.

So today, even though I was very sleepy.. I drove my new car (Oh yes! I had to buy a car. I’ll explain later) to get the O2 sensor replaced, and while I was waiting… I had had the foresight to bring my writing notebook (I decided to bring it after Rissa’s blog), and I wrote a good damn number of pages, and more importantly the stuff I wrote was good. It also finished off  nicely a current bit of a chapter. This made me happy.

 

Alright, on to other news. New Car.

Bryon decided to act up last week when we were driving Mim up to the airport. After needing to rent a car to get her all the way to the airport, I decided that enough was enough. We had gotten the car running again, and drove it straight to the Springs not stopping at all. Dropped it off at our mechanic, and I frankly haven’t heard a word of it since. That was a few days ago. And well, my mechanic is going through lots of family stuff right now so he’s backed up.

Which is fine with me. I plan on getting Byron up and running (cheaply) so that I can turn around and sell him on craigslist (or have my mechanic sell it.)

But the situation still left us without wheels. And that would not do. A few days later I was going to have to be driving up to Denver to drop my mother off at the airport. I myself am still waiting on my visa, so that I can get to Denver and fly to the UK.

So the day that Byron breaks down, I start a car search just to see what was out there. I find one that looks intriguing. I talk with the cousin, who was on her layover in Minnesota. She thinks the one I found sounds intriguing. So I call to schedule an appointment to see it for the next morning.

Thankfully friends pick me up, they will be watching the puppy and the cat while we are all gone, so we were introducing the dog to their cat, to make sure that there would be no blood.

I borrow the Y Chromosome from my friend, and he and I check out the car.

My first thought: It’s blue! I’ve never had a blue car!

It’s a 1999 Saturn SW1. So yes, it’s a wagon. Which is good because now we’ll have a vehicle to actually haul the stuff we need to constantly move.

Here is the amusing part. It’s a right hand drive. No, it wasn’t actually used for postal work. But it’s freaking amusing.

I mean honestly, how likely is it that we’d find a right hand drive vehicle in Colorado Springs, for under the budget I had set, when st least one if not everyone in the household needs to learn to drive in the UK? (Budget being like my entire life savings and move to the UK fund) Apparently those odds are better than I would have thought.

So I drive it. Being on the right side is weird. I have mum drive it, she agree’s it’s weird.

The Y Chromosome poked about the engine (he is a mechanically inclined y chromosome which was helpful and another reason I had brought him) and deemed it looking good.

For the first time in my life, I was buying a car from a dealer. It felt strange. I don’t know if it was desperation or providence, but I decided to buy it.

Of course, why is it that it’s only after you drive away that odd noises happen?

Really, it’s just me getting used to a new car… but oh boy she makes such different noises than Byron.

Then the check engine light went on. I of course freaked. Thankfully the dealer had said that if there were any problems for 60 days he’d fix it. So I called him.

I got his voicemail. Of course I start freaking. I’m wondering if this was a bad decision blah blah blah. One of my first thoughts was that it was an 02 sensor. divination skillz. I haz dem.

Well, he called me back 10 minutes later. I drove over to his garage, he ran the codes. It was the 02 sensor. Yup. I haz de skillz.

He fixes the first sensor, but he can’t fix the second one right then because well, he’s 70 and can’t go crawling under the car. His younger mechanic wouldn’t be available till Tuesday, and just to bring it back then. I had no problem with this. I wanted to do the big test on the car before coming back anyway just in case there was anything I needed to let him know about further.

I am exhausted today because I had to wake up at 3:45am to drive mother of mine to the airport. But the car passed it’s test. The check engine light came on again, but I knew it would. That light was referencing the other sensor that hadn’t been changed yet.

And after we raised the drivers seat up, it was nice to drive. Normally while driving Byron my back would go numb within 10 minutes. This time, there was only a slight twinge when I was nearly home, but nothing near the pain I am normally in after a 2+hour drive to Denver and back.

By the way, the car’s name is Ginny. I decided that it needed a good British name due to her righthandedness.

I’m in the process of knitting a Golden Snitch to put on the dashboard.

Yes. I’m a dork.

 

So mind you during all of this for the past few days, I’m freaking out because Pan my kitty who had a cat fight weeks ago… came running to me with a bloody ear. There was a nickel sized gaping hole at the base of his ear.

We clean it out, doctor him up. The next day we realize it didn’t get cleaned out like it needed… but now it’s healing properly and he’s not in pain at all.

But thanks to him doing that, and all the other stress I’ve had going on in the last month, I’ve not gotten much sleep. Last night was no bueno as well.

Now that I am the only one in the house and there is no time obligation for me at all… tonight I’m going to take a sleeping pill and zonk the hell out.

With all the compost I’ve been making the last month with these damn lemons.. I’m going to have one freaking beautiful garden.

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Dude! Golden Snitch for a car! I want to hang one from Beast’s mirror, but gold and orange? Not a good combo.

    Don’t you just love composting the rotten lemons?

    Now if only I could compost my enemies… 😀

    October 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    • I’ll knit you one and you can hang it in the next car.

      -.- I apparently haven’t gotten all of them on the compost heap yet… There is this one… that is just keeps slicing me with a switchblade yelling “I cut you bitch! Then I’mmagonna sting you with my lemony juice!”

      Lol.. I agree.

      But thanks Rissa for your blog so that I could get some good writing done. I might even take my notebook to bed for the first time in a long time.

      October 26, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

