This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Derby Pissed

I have been for months touting about the love of Derby, specifically the Pikes Peak Derby Dames.

But I am pissed now.

Now it might not be PPDD’s fault.. but since they are the ones who I wrote my check to… I’m blaming them.

I buy my tickets at Play it Again Sports. No transaction fee. Generally I don’t have cash on me (I never carry cash on me. Cash is too easy to spend.), so I’ve always written checks for the bouts. I always make sure I have enough money in my accounts to cover it as I do not like bouncing checks at all.

Generally it takes a few days to process a check.

It does not take 33 freaking days to do so.

If they had waited a few more days, one of those checks would have become invalid.

With all the turmoil of the past few weeks, I didn’t check to see if those checks had cleared. I just assumed they had.

Then today, I find out that they finally processed those checks. Both of them. Causing me to have not one but two overdraft fees. (It’s the end of the month, and I hadn’t moved money over for rent for next month so the account was pretty bare)

Yup, two damn derby bouts now cost me 100$ between the cost of the actual tickets and the fees from my bank for the overdraft.

I am PISSED.

I’m about to call Play it Again and give them a piece of my mind. I’ve already left a piece of my mind on the PPDD facebook page.

Quite frankly they’ve now left a bad taste in my mouth.

Sure, they can blame Play it Again for not giving them the checks till now.

But there is something called accountability. PPDD should collect the checks immediately after every bout. NOT A MONTH LATER.

I’ve been bringing people to the bouts. I’ve been getting people interested.

Now I’ve got a bad taste in my mouth. And I’m sure I’m going to get a response along the lines of “whoops.. nothing we can do.”

Yeah well guess what PPDD and Play it Again… it just takes one person saying how much they don’t like it to get 10 people to not go. And each of those 10 people will tell their friends as well.

I am not a woman to be pissed off.

Edit: And I just called Play it Again, they confirmed that they hand over all cash and checks immediately to PPDD. So this one is all on PPDD.

One response

  1. James

    Damn. Just damn.

    September 30, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

