This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Pikes Peak or Bust

Alright, so I suck at the blogging. I could make excuses every time, but truth is, you’ll love me or hate me and me making false promises each time won’t solve the situation.

Moving on,

I went to the top of Pikes Peak mountain this past Tuesday.

Now, I have a complete rational fear of windy mountain roads. I’ve touched on this before, but let us not forget that this is an absolute truth.

I generally end up whimpering curled in the fetal position informing the world that “trees are good. trees mean you don’t die.”

So, I sat in the back seat of the full car and had either the dog in my lap, or my knitting. There were only a few times going up that I had to gulp back the panic.

Coming down was another story. Going down is always worse since that’s when brakes tend to fail.

Even though our brakes were newish (meaning I got them replaced just a month or two ago) they were still rather hot coming down the mountain and at the mandatory before half way point break check, ours were too hot and thus we had to wait a while before we could continue.

Now you’ll notice I didn’t speak yet of the top of the mountain. It was pretty…. meh.

Looking out over the city was just not exciting. To be quire honest the west side of the mountain was much more pretty.

Oh and the crows. There was an entire massive murder of crows. I’m not just talking a few… I’m talking hundreds.  We saw them on the last leg of going up the mountain.  It was beautiful.

I can now say I’ve been to the top of Pikes Peak.

More photos can be found here. Hopefully the link will work. I’m feeling too lazy to just add the photos myself.

Yes, there are a lot of photos of the dog, because as I said my attention was focused on her a lot to quell the panic.

Tonight is derby. Pikes Peak Derby Dames, Slamazons vs ICT Wikita.

It’ll be fun.

4 responses

  1. Jo

    All those birds? Are you sure they were not Saruman’s crebain? 🙂

    August 28, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    • Snerk.

      August 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm

  2. Ah …. puppy head out the window 🙂 Hee hee. I keep forgetting you live close to me. We go up to Colorado Spring and Denver like 3 times a year. Only a 5 hour drive from here.

    And you don’t suck at blogging … you just take your sweet time!

    August 30, 2010 at 7:50 am

    • Tee hee that is sweet.

      August 30, 2010 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

