This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Contest: Name that Yarn!

Alright mah wonderful little inmates. The time has come. I’m annoyed that a name hasn’t stuck with my “Unnamed Burgundy” yarn… and since I just dyed some up this afternoon for a client, I feel I need to name it. And since it’s 2:30 in the morning and I cannot sleep, and I’m feeling a bit craaaazy…. I’m poking you all.

So lets put some more motivation out there to get the creative juices flowing.

To the winner, I will offer 1 mini skein of my SW SOCK. That will be a 50 gram skein, which is 220 yards. Of any colorway of your choice. (Barring the Collaboration yarns at this time unless I get approval from my collaborator to do an off base skein)

Lets play… NAME THIS YARN!!!
image title
image title

Remember the themes of this asylum… madness runs rampant here, so no idea is too outlandish…1

Oh wait.. I might have just thought of a name that would fit…. Oh well, I still want to do this little contest and see what everyone else comes up with. No more kidding around, this time it’s for the money2 so lets come up with some great things.

Lets have fun with this, so tell your friends, the more the merrier, and who knows… if you bring a friend…. tell me! You just might win a little somethin’ somethin’.

This will be cross-posted on various places, so forgive me in advance for that.


  1. By outlandish, I do not mean part of the Outlander series that I have… I mean “far out there”
  2. By money, I mean yarn.
5 responses

  1. Jo

    Vesta Victoria – She was a Victorian music hall performer, and the colours remind me of the costumes and decor of the music halls. 🙂

    July 31, 2010 at 2:17 am

  2. Smashed Blueberries or Smashing Blueberries (like Smashing Pumpkins) – I know nothing too original this morning from me but that is what that yarn looks like to me. It’s the exact colors of smashed blueberries.

    July 31, 2010 at 8:46 am

  3. I’m getting kind of a Harry Potter vibe from it….how about “Sybill” after the Divinination teacher?

    July 31, 2010 at 2:08 pm

  4. Diane

    “Spill the wine and take that pearl” – as in the song by Eric Burdon & War

    July 31, 2010 at 4:04 pm

  5. My first thought was Purple Nurple. Then when you said Burgandy I thought perhaps Stay Classy, Ron Burgandy.

    July 31, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

