This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Berry Batty Pie! – Baking After Midnight

I’m such a bad blogger. I promise when I get back from my pleasure/business trip thats happening next week, I’ll be a better blogger and take care of all you peeps.

First off, let me get some artsy stuff out of the way.

I use Artfire.com for my little Asylum shop. I love it. I’ll never go back to Etsy if I can help it. I’m even about to upgrade to the Artfire Pro account for more features.

Speaking of those features, I am in love with the Facebook Kiosk.

Why am I going on about Artfire right now? Well, it’s for a contest entry, so just bear with me.

Now having just fulfilled the contest entry (sorry, there will be another one next week) lets move on to what you came here for…

PIE!!!

I made some Berry Batty Pie last night.

Blackberries, Strawberries nom nom nom.

I went with a recipe that I’m very familiar with. Let me take you back to my childhood.

There were dragons. There were firelizards. There was this acid rain called “Threads”. Oh yes, I am talking about the world of Pern by Anne McCaffery.

I have owned a copy of the “Dragonlover’s Guide to Pern” for a very long time now.

I’ve made Klah. It’s nummy… which reminds me I need to make another batch of it sometime soon.

But most of all I tend to make some of the fabulous Bubbly Pies.

Normally I make them in the traditional Hand pie form… or in the Gather tart form. But I decided to make a full pie on this one.

It is delicious.

Next time I do need to thicken it up a bit, as I completely forgot how juicy all those berries are.

Why is it a batty pie?

Well, other than the fact that I made it… I used a miniature cookie cutter that I bought either Halloween last year, or Halloween the year before to cut the holes in my crust.

So so so so nummy.

One response

  1. and it was indeed…

    May 2, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Leave a Reply

