This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Baking After Midnight: Not quite so crack cake.

So this month is cake month over at Baking After Midnight.

I had two goals.

1) To use the buttermilk I had in the fridge

2)To perhaps make something with berries as I have a small container of blackberries, and a large 4lb container of strawberries.

I succeeded in the first one.

The berries, not so much. None of the recipes for using berries seemed even remotely appealing. All of them in my initial search called for berry flavored jello to be added to the mix.

Sigh. I hate all those midwestern women who think mayo and jello are the hight of gourmet cuisine.

So instead of wading through ten thousand recipes involving jello I decided to scrap the berry idea.

Going with the buttermilk situation, I found a recipe for Crack Cake.

It sounded good, and everyone voted for me to do it on FB. Supposedly it’s such a good cake that you can’t only eat one slice.

I halved the recipe, as I didn’t need a 9×13 coffee cake that you supposedly couldn’t resist sitting around when I’m the only one home.

For me it’s Not Quite So Crack Cake.

Perhaps it was my fault… I made the glaze topping with buttermilk instead of regular milk… but every bite I had of the cake tasted salty.

I’m not entirely sure if it’s just the glaze that tasted salty, or if it’s the entire cake it’s self. I’ll have another bite at some point later and only nom the bottom part to see.

Moving along… I’ve discovered that while knitting late at night, it is not a good idea to watch Ghost Whisperer. Specifically season 4, and even more specifically the second disc of season 4. (meaning episodes 5-8)

You will cry.

It’s very difficult to knit lace while your eyes are filled up with tears. Just sayin’.

And with that, I leave you for now.

6 responses

  1. Oh crying and lace, not a good thing.

    Salty cake, interesting.

    April 3, 2010 at 10:34 am

    • I think next time, I’m going to use wheat germ for the crumble if I do this again.

      April 3, 2010 at 4:55 pm

  2. James

    Well, it looked yummy even if it didn’t taste good. lol

    Do agree with you on mayo and jello though.

    April 3, 2010 at 10:49 am

    • It wasn’t that it was bad per say. It was just salty to me, and then again I’m a super taster, so it might just be normal to everyone else.

      April 3, 2010 at 4:53 pm

  3. Jo

    It still looks really wonderful! I’m looking forward to Cake Month, I’m always game for new recipes.

    Also, Ghost Whisperer – I cried too. Had to put the knitting down, it is very hard to knit whilst crying!

    April 3, 2010 at 11:40 am

    • I can’t wait to see what you come up with. 🙂

      Stupid lace… stupid tears… sniff sniff.

      April 3, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

