This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

I can now avoid the Girl Scout Mafia

You know who they are.
Those bright cheery faces that come out once a year. They are all sweet on the surface. Then, their real intent comes out. They start pushing their crack.

Yes… Girl Scout Cookies.

Thin Mints
Peanut Butter Sandwiches/Do-si-dos
Peanut Butter Patties/Tagalongs
Shortbreads/Trefoils
Samoas
Lemon Chalet Cremes
Daisy Go Rounds
Sugar-Free Chocolate Chips
Dulce De Leche
Lemonades Rounds
Thank U Berry Munch

They ambush you, outside the grocery store, outside of libraries. Everywhere. You can’t go 10 feet without seeing a table set up with cold looking parents and a gaggle of girls shouting the chorus of “Would you like to buy some cookies?!”

In office places, parents will passive aggressively coerce you into signing your soul away for boxes that won’t arrive for weeks.

And they ain’t cheep baby.

Yes, you’ll be happy when you discover that you still have a box of Thin Mints stashed in the freezer… cause… well they are best out of the freezer… I don’t know why but they are.

Personally, I am not fond of GS cookies. I don’t like plain vanilla cookies with stuff thrown on top, I’m not a fan of shortbread (as my mother sadly laments) But Thin Mints… Oooh baby those are nummy. Chocolate and Mint were meant to be together.

Another sad fact, is that the girls don’t get very much money for those cookies they peddle. Less than a dollar, though the exact amount escapes me at the moment.

A few weeks ago I discovered something… I discovered a recipe that will recreate Thin Mints.
HOT DOG I’M IN HEAVEN!

In the time of my life where even though I am broke as all hell, I am trying to do my best to eat healthier, use better quality ingredients.

I made one real change to the recipe, and that is specifically to the chocolate coating made. Instead of using two sticks of butter (!), I just made a basic milk+chocolate ganache, and frankly it worked just peachy.

Here is the recipe, and it’s a “Green” recipe. But don’t let that put you off. I used the tin of cocoa powder I already had instead of going out and buying organic cocoa, I used butter that I always use instead of searching for local butter, Tollhouse chips instead of Fair Trade Organic etc. Use what you have, or what works for you. These cookies don’t have to break the bank.

Homemade Thin Mints

Somehow I only managed to snag a photo of the pre dipped cookies… but that’s alright.. you all know what chocolate dipped cookies look like.

And I will neither confirm nor deny that the empty spaces on the pan were gobbled up.. er I mean sacraficed to the cookie gods.

And sorry for the lack of updates… I’ve just been doing the same old same old.. Knitting… writing etc.
I do have some knitting projects to show, but not till I know they’ve arrived to their intended parties. Wouldn’t want to spoil any surprises.
And yes, I promise an account of the Great Big Sea concert… I swear!

3 responses

  1. Sigh…. I can make the Shorbread/Trefoils even if you don’t care for them, so that’s two down and nine to go.

    March 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

  2. Cherie

    *sigh* Those aren’t the real thin mints. Those are the cheap a$$ ones the Scouts switched to a few years ago to save money. The real thin mints also have a thin layer of mint frosting on the cookie before you put the coating on. The layer of frosting is where the name came from! The new cookies the Scout cabal sells just make me sad. Nabisco makes Mystic Mints, which are almost the same as the original Thin Mints.

    March 21, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    • I don’t remember the switch, but mostly that would be because we tried to avoid the GS Mafia as much as possible, and I wasn’t in the GS at all so I never had to try to foist them off on people first hand. So really I only ever got the random box every couple of years. That is until I became an adult and had to deal with the parents and office politics.

      March 21, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

