This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

As Frankie Said…

I did it my way.

Today was not a good day for the most part.  Kept waking up in the middle of the night because my lower back locked up thanks to the joys of having a uterus.  So I had weird dreams and thus was cranky in the morning.

I couldn’t even form coherent thoughts until well into the mid part of the day.

I have half a wedding dress.

It started so simply.  I needed to go to the post office to mail out a yarn order (woot).  While at the post office, I realized I didn’t have my wallet.  I prayed that it was simply in my jacket at home, and not some where in the street between Whole Foods and home for the last 24 hours.

Then I needed to go to the library.  So, Mother of Mine tagged along as she had a package to send as well.

As we were leaving the library (and me still not coherent yet), Mother of Mine says we are going to go to Mill Outlet.  We were going to buy the fabric for my wedding dress as they were having their 45th anniversary sale.

40% off one item, or one cut piece of fabric up to 3 yards. And 5% off the entire order.

Sadly, I needed 6 yards, but for some reason I still got 20% off the other 3 yards of fabric, and then even still got the extra 5% off of that.

We paid 176$ for the fabric, when normally it would be 250$

Last week I bought the under fabric for the dress, and spent…. I wanna say around 45$.  So, just over 220$ spent for my wedding dress.

This doesn’t bother me, as yes… I’m sure I could go to one of those 99$ sales…But…

Would I find anything that fit? No.

Would I find anything that looked good? No.

Would I find anything that I could actually wear for more than just my wedding? No.

Would I actually end up paying 99$ No.

I’m not built like most girls.  I have very broad shoulders. I also do have an Hourglass figure (though, thats been slightly hidden over the years thanks to working in call centers… it’s still there though.. still an hourglass) So if a dress has any kind of fit in the top, it won’t fit my shoulders, and if it fits my shoulders, it’s generally to big in the waist, or my hips  etc etc.

This is why I am having a dress made for me. (Notice I didn’t say “making my own dress”, I’m being honest here.)

I will not look like a giant meringue, I will not look like a bell (and that is not to be confused with “belle”).

I know what shapes work with my body.

I know what length and flow works.

This dress will look good.      I hope.

Found my wallet.  Had it with us the entire time in the car. Must have fallen out after Whole Foods yesterday. Crisis averted once again.

After that, I was finally awake enough to do what I didn’t do yesterday.

Make homemade ranch dressing.

Which… is mighty tasty if I do say so myself.  I didn’t have all the herbs I wanted, so I improvised.  It’s not bad.  Mine is not your classic Ranch, simply because of the herb change up.  But it’s good.  Next time, I’ll make sure I have the correct herbs that I want.  I’ll keep experimenting till I get it just how I want it.

I used the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for it.  You can find it here.

I also made The Best Lasagna … Ever.

Which is also one of PW’s.  Here.

Of course this is me… I change things around.

I was short 1 cup of cottage cheese, but I do not feel that took away from the yummy factor.

I used 1 pound 95% lean ground beef and half a pound ground buffalo instead of hot breakfast sausage. What can I say… I’m not fond of spicy hot sausage.

I used the fresh parsley instead of dried, as I conveniently had a bunch of it left over from the ranch dressing.

I also added another layer into the mix.

Artichoke and spinach.  Oh yes, I went there.  I went there and damn it was good.  Wanna know something else?  2 cans.  Yes, you heard me. 2 cans of artichoke hearts.  Damn I’m good.  Damn it was good.  You know you love it.  Succumb to the the power of the artichoke heart.

Fast forward ohh… about an hour now, and I have a full belly.

The only thing I think I would change would be to reduce the salt.  But thats just my own choice, I don’t tend to use much salt in my cooking, and Mother of Mine can’t do the salt.  As I was holding measuring the salt out the second time, I actually debated reducing it. But no… I decided to go with Ree on this one this time… that way I would know my own opinion for next time.  I think I would reduce it by half through out the entire recipe (if you read the recipe, you’ll see what I mean).

I don’t think that I had a full pound of mozzarella cheese. They were out of the shredded packs at WF, and so I just grabbed a brick and the nice cheese man who had gone to look for the shredded packs, sliced it for me.  I think it was closer to just over half a pound of cheese.  I did not find the recipe lacking for this fact.

I did not use any tomato paste.  Didn’t need it either.  Take that lasagna, I made you how I wanted.

For the amount of food this lasagna made… I’d say it was well worth the effort.

The knitting is going well.  I’m up to row 61, so I’m very close to where I had to stop on the previous attempt.  The cables are going the correct ways, and the only thing that I’m not happy about, will tighten up when I wet block it later.  Woot!  Only 56 rows to go till I put the body down and start making the sleeves.

The writing is also going well.  I’m about to change up my routine so that I get myself to do more writing each day.  I’ll tell you about it when I get it to actually work.  Might not happen this week though because of the exhaustion factor.

I am debating making some pernicious s’mores for dessert. We’ll see if I’m up to it or not.

One response

  1. I seriously don’t think any of the changes affect the end result of lasagne. Make it YOUR way!

    February 28, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Leave a Reply

