This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Nom de plume…..?

It’s a very tough decision, knowing what you shall be known by when you are an author.

Even more so when you are female.

Even more so when you are about to get married.

Even more so when the person you are about to get married to plans on having a long career in politics.

Depending on the genre, female writers don’t do as well as male authors.

Romance- Heck yeah! In fact, they do better than male authors there.

Paranormal Fiction – Sure!

Classic Literature – Errr well…  unless you are in the class of Austen and Bronte… then no.. not so much. (And truth be told, the Bronte sisters didn’t do well with their own name in their own time.)

Action / Adventure – Not really.

I don’t even know my genre yet.

I have one novella that is almost finished, which could fall in the Paranormal, and even Paranormal Romance. (It was originally written for a contest that was Paranormal Romance, but my level of romance is quite tame and nothing I wouldn’t do in the other novels.)

My current novel that I am also working on… (I know I know, I’m not done with the novella yet… I’m almost there though, and if I don’t get the words down now for the current one, I’m afraid I’ll loose them forever. I can multitask with writing.. really I can.) is a Steampunk/ Alternate Victorian / Action Adventure / with a bit of Mystery dashed in. – hmm…. that makes it a bit difficult to decide which genre is falls into in the first place, let alone what name should be on the cover.

I will admit, it’s a pride thing. I really want to see “Erin ….” on the cover.

But will it hurt my career?

Will having my name at all hurt Guy’s career? Will it help?

Then there are options. I could do my maiden name… but then I’m stuck with it for the rest of my life, and Guy will then be called (at least once) as “Mr. Gallagher”.

But will Erin Grandison sell any novels?

There are options…

E.A. Gallagher – Pretty androgynous

E.A. Grandison – Also androgynous

But I have to admit, I don’t know if I want to be known as “E.A.”

It feels like… I honestly don’t know how to describe how it feels, but it makes me slightly wiggy.

Now until I’ve actually got my manuscript ready for submission, this is actually all moot. But it is food for thought that I have been chewing on for a while now.

Part of the reason was a discussion that cropped up in a Pens and Needles group on Ravelry which that in it’s self was spurned by this article: Call me James

On one hand, going with a non de plume can  cause problems. One of my favorite authors I just found out is not in fact Kim Harrison, but instead is Dawn Cook. I didn’t much mind (other than going “wow.. she doesn’t look like a ‘Dawn’…”), but apparently it caused a lot of strife amongst the fan boards, and it came to such a furor that Kim had to quit that forum and go back into being at arms length again. Now, Kim (sorry, I just can’t call her Dawn) did go all out with the persona though. Wig, wardrobe, backstory… So I can slightly see why some people might have been irked when it all came to light as a lie.

Sigh, even typing it all out here hasn’t helped make my mind up much. Mayhaps when I actually finish my manuscripts, I’ll have a long discussion with my close peeps and see if it needs to be under a nom de plume or not.

Random: The gym today was good. I didn’t feel like I was going to pass out afterwards. Woot! I am getting better at this.

2 responses

  1. To complicate things still further, I can think of a couple of authors who use different names for different genres/sets of books! I can empathise though, as I’m trying to think of a possible etsy shop name (for the future, not ready for that right now) which isn’t really closely connected to my name, or that limits me to selling only one sort of thing, but that is reasonably memorable and easy on the tongue.

    Back to the nom de plume – when I did NaNoWriMo a couple of years back, I adopted my grandmother’s maiden name. Both my maiden and married names are common, but her surname (the way she spelled it anyway) was quite unusual, and I do like to stand out from the crowd!

    January 25, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    • I admit that there are times with my etsy store name, that I did feel it was limiting me, but in the end I’m alright with it. Most people just end up calling my shop “The Asylum” which I’m very alright with.
      Back to the nom de plume again, yes there is the cross genre switch sometimes, which one also needs to consider.
      I guess we’ll see what an agent says… if I ever manage to snag an agent that is.

      January 26, 2010 at 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

