This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Midnight

This past weekend I was playing around with a new technique in dyeing. I’m trying to get my skillz up, and the only way to do that is practice, practice, practice.

3 yarns went in the dye pot. I will post a blog for each one to tell it’s story properly.

I didn’t have a name or an idea for this one when it was bare yarn.

Then, as I was mixing in the purples and blues I started thinking about Doctor Who. (yes, I am a dork… I freely acknowledge this.)

I started specifically thinking about the episode “Midnight” from season 4.

Spoilers below, if you don’t want to be spoiled skip down to the photo. After the photo I’ll make sure it’s spoiler free.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Midnight is an uninhabited planet that the Doctor and Donna “relax” on. The sun is far too strong, so no going outdoors.

The Doctor decides he wants to see a diamond waterfall.

So he hops on the tour bus… a 4 hour trip each way. Donna decides that 4 hours each way is much too much like her school days and decides to lay by the pool soaking up the sun. (through a very thick filter mind you)

The trip is like any other bus ride, until the bus goes on a different course. The computer chose the course mind you.

Suddenly the bus is attacked. But (gasp) nothing can be out there!

A strange entity then takes over on of the passengers.

A mimic if you will.

A poem from it (and forgive me, I cannot recall the author’s name at the moment) struck me. I really love it.

“We must not look at goblin men
We must not buy their fruits
Who knows upon what soil they fed
Their hungry, thirsty roots?”

Well, I give you a new yarn. Completely kettle dyed… (as opposed to my normal dip method)

“Midnight”

Midnight

The photos do not do it justice.  But Mother of Mine and I are talking about building a light box. A light box will solve all my lighting problems.

I hope you enjoy the yarn. I do. I think I have plans for it. But we’ll see.

It also looks like I’m going to have a busy year here in the Asylum. I’ve got about 4 custom orders pending right now. This makes me very happy.

6 responses

  1. Gorgeous colours – so vibrant. And I love that episode – I think it’s one of the scariest, just because they can’t see the ‘monster’ and so everyone seems more vulnerable.

    January 20, 2010 at 4:33 am

    • It definitely was a scary episode. And I really liked that you never saw the monster. It also really showed the monsters in us and what happens when we end up with mob mentality.

      Thanks! 🙂

      January 20, 2010 at 12:18 pm

  2. James

    Even if the photos don’t do it justice, that is a really really gorgeous colour.

    January 20, 2010 at 9:20 am

    • Thanks James. I can’t wait to see it knitted up. That’s for sure. 🙂

      January 20, 2010 at 12:16 pm

  3. Halifax Mommy

    sock wt/ or lace?

    January 21, 2010 at 11:20 am

    • Everything I’ve been doing right now has been sock weight. Mostly because thats what I’m doing all my prototypes on. Bases are optional after that point.

      January 21, 2010 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

