This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Crash and Eddie

A few months ago I was approached with the second custom order of my business.

I was excited. I was nervous.

Suddenly I realized I was running out of time.

This was supposed to be a Christmas pressie, and I didn’t get off my butt and in front of the dye pot until the middle of Guy’s trip out here!

The reason for this was the fact that it was a new technique.  I was attempting Self Striping for the first time.

Thankfully, Amanda was really cool about everything and a pleasure to work with.

Tangled in yarn, frustrated that everything I was doing was coming down, I enlisted the assistance of Guy and we got it ready to dye. (And he got a taste of life to come! grin )

The mission?

To create a yarn based off of Crash and Eddie from Ice Age 2 (and Ice Age 3)

I think I did pretty well.

Here is what I came up with:

And this is what happens when you do self striping yarn. Yup… you get yarn draped all over the house. And woe to anyone who tries to walk through!

Kelley, the recipient of the yarn… loves it. She shall keep me updated with what she makes with it, so that I can see how it knits up.

I am excited about this.

4 responses

  1. I see what the future holds…

    January 19, 2010 at 3:05 am

  2. Nic

    Very impressive!

    January 19, 2010 at 10:38 am

    • Thanks Nic! I’m very proud of it if I do say so myself. 🙂

      January 19, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Leave a Reply

