This blog is mostly going to be my little place to talk about the novel I am writing. Which is why I stole a quote from one of my favorite tv shows, as this novel I am writing, I plan to finish, and at times.. it feels like an impossible thing. Also this is to journal my move to the UK, and starting my own business as an Indie Yarn Dyer

Perpetual Organic Green Onions. Brilliant!

I love Pinterest. I really do. I have learned so much on there. I know some friends of mine are currently cancelling their accounts, as they feel they spend too much time on there, but I don’t know what I’d do without mine. I think I’d get rid of Facebook before I got rid of Pinterest. The reason for this is the fact that nearly half of the meals the hubby and I have eaten in the past 2 weeks alone have been dishes I’ve gotten from Pintrest.  Actually, last night’s dinner, today’s lunch, AND tonight’s dinner were all found originally on Pinterest.

One pin a few weeks ago that caught my eye was regrowing Green Onions. Perpetually growing green onions.. how fabulous!

 

Here’s the deal. You chop up your green onions, normally you’d throw away the little root at the bottom. Everyone does it, don’t feel bad. You can feel bad from this point forward. So I decided to get some green onions, and I shelled out the big bucks for the organic ones, because I figure anything I’m growing in the house/garden I want to be organic, which means starting with… organic materials!

So, on Monday, which was the Chinese New Year, I made a noodle dish for dinner with green onions. I chopped mine up like normal, and then I grabbed a glass out of the cuboard.. just a juice glass that the hubs and I don’t really use.  I put water in it (filtered from my Brita… but if you want to use non filtered water, I guess that’s your prerogative. ) and dropped the roots in. When I threw the roots in, they were perfectly flat from where I cut.

 

And today.. just a day later, I can already see growth!

 

 

See? See that little bump in the center of my onion root. That is new growth! I kid you not, that root was perfectly flat when I threw it in the water yesterday.

Please ignore the stuff on my nails. I had just made the Kale Pestummus and I hadn’t gotten all the chopped up kale off my hand apparently.

I’m so excited! These are growing so quickly, and I will have perpetually growing green onions!

All you need to do is change out the water every few weeks (I’d probably do it every week, but then I’m OCD… ) I’ll probably also need to transfer them to a taller container later on… I’m thinking a decorative vase would do nicely… Just make sure you keep them in a sunny spot and they should do fine.

 

Think about all the money you’ll save! And now I know that from this point forward the green onions in my house are organic and happy.

 

Now I just need to be better about using green onions. lol. I swear it’s not a dislike of them, it’s just that I never had them in the house. Now I won’t have to worry about that! Woot!

2 responses

  1. This is TOTALLY brilliant! Must try immediately…

    xxx,

    Alexandra

    April 4, 2012 at 5:28 am

    • Thanks! I was actually about to do a new post about this. I have some tips.. don’t cut all the way down into the white. My first batch (this photo) totally didn’t work. But I got a new bunch, immediately put it in the water, and then trimmed some for dinner from that. Just the next day I already had significant growth, and they are still growing. I will even trim them when I don’t need onions, but it will help promote new growth.

      April 9, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.